Books Fiction News Non-fiction

The winners of the 2018 Bram Stoker Awards announced

The winners of the 2018 Bram Stoker Awards, run by the Horror Writers Association, were announced on Saturday May 11th at the 4th annual StokerCon™ in Michigan, honouring the year’s best horror across a range of categories. Below you can find all of the winners, including those shortlisted for each award category.

Superior Achievement in a Novel

Winner: Paul Tremblay – The Cabin at the End of the World (William Morrow)

Alma Katsu – The Hunger (G.P. Putnam’s Sons)

Jonathan Maberry – Glimpse (St. Martin’s Press)

Josh Malerman – Unbury Carol (Del Rey)

Dacre Stoker and J.D Barker – Dracul (G.P. Putnam’s Sons)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

Winner: Gwendolyn Kiste – The Rust Maidens (Trepidatio Publishing)

Julia Fine – What Should Be Wild (Harper)

T.E. Grau – I Am the River (Lethe Press)

Zoje Stage – Baby Teeth (St. Martin’s Press)

Tony Tremblay – The Moore House (Twisted Publishing)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

Winner: Kiersten White – The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein (Delacorte Press)

Justina Ireland – Dread Nation (Balzer + Bray)

Claire Legrand – Sawkill Girls (Katherine Tegen Books)

Jonathan Maberry – Broken Lands (Simon & Schuster)

Monique Snyman – The Night Weaver (Gigi Publishing)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

Winner: Victor LaValle – Victor LaValle’sDestroyer (BOOM! Studios)

Saladin Ahmed – Abbott (BOOM! Studios)

Brian Azzarello – Moonshine Vol. 2: Misery Train (Image Comics)

Cullen Bunn – Bone Parish (BOOM! Studios)

Marjorie Liu – Monstress Volume 3: Haven (Image Comics)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

Winner: Rena Mason – “The Devil’s Throat” (Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Terror) (Adrenaline Press)

Michael Bailey – Our Children, Our Teachers (Written Backwards)

Joe Hill – “You Are Released” (Flight or Fright: 17 Turbulent Tales) (Scribner)

Usman T. Malik – “Dead Lovers on Each Blade, Hung” (Nightmare Magazine Issue #74)

Angela Yuriko Smith – Bitter Suites (CreateSpace)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

Winner: Jess Landry – “Mutter” (Fantastic Tales of Terror) (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Lee Murray – “Dead End Town” (Cthulhu Deep Down Under Volume 2) (IFWG Publishing International)

Annie Neugebauer – “Glove Box” (The Dark City Crime & Mystery Magazine Volume 3, Issue 4-July 2018)

John F.D Taff. – “A Winter’s Tale” (Little Black Spots) (Grey Matter Press)

Kyla Lee Ward– “And in Her Eyes the City Drowned” (Weirdbook #39) (Wildside Press)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

Winner: Eric J. Guignard – That Which Grows Wild (Cemetery Dance Publications)

Gemma Files – Spectral Evidence (Trepidatio Publishing)

Gabino Iglesias – Coyote Songs (Broken River Books)

Lucy A. Snyder – Garden of Eldritch Delights (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Tim Waggoner – Dark and Distant Voices: A Story Collection (Nightscape Press)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

Winner: Meredith Averill – The Haunting of Hill House: The Bent-Neck Lady, Episode 01:05 (Amblin Television, FlanaganFilm, Paramount Television)

Ari Aster – Hereditary (PalmStar Media)

Alex Garland – Annihilation (DNA Films, Paramount Pictures, Scott Rudin Productions, Skydance Media)

Eric Heisserer – Bird Box (Bluegrass Films, Chris Morgan Productions, Universal Pictures)

Bryan Woods, Scott Beck, and John Krasinski – A Quiet Place (Platinum Dunes, Sunday Night)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

Winner: Ellen Datlow – The Devil and the Deep: Horror Stories of the Sea (Night Shade Books)

James Chambers, April Grey, and Robert Masterson – A New York State of Fright: Horror Stories from the Empire State (Hippocampus Press)

Eric J. Guignard – A World of Horror (Dark Moon Books)

Lee Murray – Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Terror (Adrenaline Press)

D. Alexander Ward – Lost Highways: Dark Fictions from the Road (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

Winner: Joe Mynhardt and Eugene Johnson – It’s Alive: Bringing Your Nightmares to Life (Crystal Lake Publishing)

John Connolly – Horror Express (PS Publishing)

Lee Gambin – The Howling: Studies in the Horror Film (Centipede Press)

Howard David Ingham – We Don’t Go Back: A Watcher’s Guide to Folk Horror (Room 207 Press)

Kevin J. Wetmore Jr. – Uncovering Stranger Things: Essays on Eighties Nostalgia, Cynicism and Innocence in the Series (McFarland)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

Winner: Sara Tantlinger – The Devil’s Dreamland (Strangehouse Books)

Bruce Boston – Artifacts (Independent Legions Publishing)

David E. Cowen – Bleeding Saffron (Weasel Press)

Donna Lynch – Witches (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Marge Simon and Alessandro Manzetti – War (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Specialty Press Award

Awarded to Raw Dog Screaming Press, Jennifer Barnes and John Edward Lawson.

Mentor of the Year Award

Awarded to J.G. Faherty.

Silver Hammer Award

Awarded to Jess Landry for excellent service to the organisation.

Richard Laymon President’s Award

Awarded to Brad Hodson for excellent service to the organisation.

If you buy a book through one of our affiliate links (, you’re not just supporting Sublime Horror, you are supporting independent booksellers.

Did you enjoy this article? Please help our independent coverage of horror continue.

Leave a Reply